Week 5 – Counterfactual Identity Project

For the counterfactual identity project, I decided to dress “goth-ish”. I’m already a bit unconventional when it comes to my makeup and my clothes, so this project was actually kind of fun. I have tattoos and a piercing, and it’s not rare to see me with purple eyebrows or blue lipstick, so I just decided to go to the darker end of the spectrum, for this week’s project. On a daily basis (well, when I actually take time to get ready), I look something like this:

IMG_4881For the project, I ended up looking like this:

Photo on 9-27-14 at 5.07 PM #2

It’s a bit difficult to see in the picture, but my eye makeup was dark and dramatic, and I had black lipstick on. I wore a pleather dress, with a waist cincher, and cherry red Doc Marten boots. I walked into a Starbucks on a Saturday afternoon and spoke with a girl who was sitting in the coffee shop working on homework. I asked her a series of questions:

What is my name? You look like you could be an Allison or a name that starts with an A

What’s my major? Business

What’s my age? 22

What’s my occupation? hairstylist

Am I married? No

Do I have kids? No

My favorite color? Blue

What’s my favorite type of music? Hardcore

My hobbies: Drawing, reading

Do I drink alcohol? Yes

Do I do drugs? No

In comparison to Carrie’s answers, I’m actually a fashion merchandising major, I’m 26, and I’m a merchandising assistant for a children’s vintage boutique in Long Beach. I am not married but I do have a 5-year-old son. My favorite color is purple and I love classic rock. I do enjoy reading as a hobby and running. I drink alcohol and I don’t do drugs. Carrie wasn’t too far off.

At the end of our conversation, I told Carrie that I don’t normally dress like that and what this project was about. She was really nice and explained that she tries not to judge people by their appearance. She explained that people do that to her all the time, and she doesn’t like it. She’s a business major from Cal State Fullerton and it was nice meeting her. This project was an interesting one. I enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

