Week 4 – Featured Artist(s) – Helena Bae & Oscar Mendoza

Image 1

This art piece caught my eye and stood out amongst the rest in the gallery. I really like the colors of this piece. The blues, purples, and grays, together with the texture reminded me of the ocean. I have a strange relationship with the ocean. Since I was little, I’ve had a fear of the ocean. I don’t like to go in it, from fear of not knowing what’s underneath me. I’m also terrified of sharks and other sea creatures. Although I have this fear of the ocean, I gravitate towards it. There is something so powerful and fascinating about the ocean. I wish I had the courage to jump in freely or maybe even try surfing one day! Anyway, this art piece really gave me a strong sense of the ocean that I hate and love so much. Thanks Helena and Oscar!

Leave a Reply

